Wine winners raise a glass

Giant Steps head winemaker Steve Flamsteed.

The Yarra Valley scooped the pool at several spring award presentations for wine.

Domaine Chandon’s chandon brut (non-vintage) was crowned Best Australian Sparkling Wine at the Champagne and Sparkling Wine World Championships (CSWWC) in London.

“It is a rarity in wine shows for a non-vintage sparkling to take a trophy,” Chandon senior winemaker Dan Buckle said.

“So, this is not only incredible news for us but also for people who want to drink Australian sparkling wine that is both affordable and high quality.”

Competition founder and judge Tom Stevenson said: “It says a lot about Chandon Australia that its entry-level wine has the core-quality to beat the cream of Australia’s sparkling wine and win the National Trophy.”

The Australian Sparkling Wine Show judges tasted 140 entries from across the country at the Black Spur Inn in Narbethong.

Broken Back Wine’s La Thirsty Wombat received a bronze and on points pipped some of the biggest sparkling wine producers in the country.

The 2017 Willow Lake Vineyard Chardonnay from A Rodda Wines won the Langton’s James Halliday Chardonnay Challenge with 97 out of 100 points.

Adrian Rodda produced the wine with grapes grown on the Upper Yarra Valley Willowlake Vineyard near Gladysdale and topped 543 other chardonnay.

“This result, first and foremost, is a testament to the Willowlake Vineyard and the hard work of viticulturist Tim Wray and his crew to grow such high quality chardonnay,” Mr Rodda said.

At the 20th National Cool Climate Wine Show, Santolin Wines and their Cosa Nostra 2017 Pinot Noir Syrah took out the Champion Dry Red Blends and Varietals Trophy.

Giant Steps Wine was a big winner at the Yarra Valley Wine Show Trophy Presentation Dinner.

Rochford Wines hosted more than 200 guests at the Langton’s event in September.

Healesville’s Giant Steps received six trophies including Most Successful Exhibitor.

Its 2017 Tarraford Chardonnay was acknowledged as Champion Wine of Show, Best Chardonnay, Best Single Vineyard White and Best White Wine.

Giant Steps was also awarded Best Other Single Varieties and Their Blends for the 2017 Yarra Valley Pinot Noir Syrah.

Yarra Glen’s Greenstone Vineyards received three trophies for its 2017 Estate Pinot Noir – Best Pinot Noir, Best Single Vineyard Red and Best Red Wine.

Sandra DePury accepted the inaugural Langton’s Wines of Provenance Trophy for her entry of Yeringberg Cabernet Blend from 2005, 2008 and 2015.

Ray Guerin, an inspirational Yarra Valley based viticulturist, was inducted into the Yarra Valley Wine Growers Association Hall of Fame for his dedication and visionary work to the industry and region.

The Vineyard of the Year was awarded to Gruyere’s Thousand Candles, where Stuart Proud has a clear philosophy for vineyard management that aims for both sustainable and quality production.

The 2012 Coldstream Hills Reserve Chardonnay was announced as the Best Museum Release.

De Bortoli was awarded the Best Other White with its 2017 Vinoque The Oval Vineyard Pinot Blanc and Best Rose with its 2018 Vinoque Nebbiolo Rose.

Best Cabernet Sauvignon went to Coldstream’s Punt Road for its Napoleone Vineyard Block 11 Cabernet Sauvignon 2017, while Guyere’s Yarra Yering took home the award for Best Cabernet Varieties and their Blends for its Dry Red No.1 2016.

Best Shiraz was awarded to Coldstream’s Oakridge Wines for its 2017 Vineyard Series Shiraz.

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.